Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer

Community Planning

Municipal Boards

Community planning involves a range of activities, from the development of long term (present and future) objectives to the development of strategies, policies and programs intended to achieve those objectives in a cost-effective and environmentally sustainable manner.

Click here to visit the Pennsylvania Department of Community and Economic Development website.

Click here to visit the Beaver County, PA Planning & Redevelopment website.

Hopewell Township Board of Commisioners

Hopewell Township’s Board of Commissioner’s Business Meetings are held at 7:00 PM in the Public Meeting Room, upstairs in the Municipal Building on the 4th Monday of each month, unless otherwise specified. All residents are encouraged to attend Commissioner’s Meetings. We welcome your concerns, suggestions, and ideas!

Hopewell Township’s Board of Commissioners Workshop Meetings are held at 6:30 PM in the Caucus Room, upstairs in the Municipal Building on the 2nd Monday of each month, unless otherwise specified.

Hopewell Township Sewer Authority

The Hopewell Township Sewer Authority is appointed by the Board of Commissioners to manage all projects related to the development, operation and maintenance of public and private sewage facilities (distribution and treatment) within the Township. Department personnel are located in the lower level of the municipal building, which may be accessed either from the main building entrance or the ground level entrance (from rear police parking lot).

Sewer Authority Members:

The Sewer Authority meets at 6:00 pm on the fourth Monday of each month (except on holidays).
The meetings are held in the Lower Level Meeting Room of the Hopewell Township Municipal Building.

Hopewell Township Planning Commission

The Hopewell Township Planning Commission and Zoning Hearing Boards are jointly responsible for coordinating all community planning, development, permitting and building activities within the community. It is a goal of the planning and zoning offices to assist residents, property owners, business owners, builders and developers in understanding and complying with all regulations, procedures and ordinances on these matters as established by the Hopewell Township Board of Commissioners.

Planning Commission meetings are held at 7 pm on the 3rd Thursday of every month. Meetings are held at the Hopewell Township Municipal Building. Applications to be on the agenda must be received by the township office 15 days prior to the scheduled meeting. Plans received after that will be reviewed at the next scheduled monthly meeting.

Planning Commission Members

  • Bob Williams, Chairman
  • Mark Nelson, Vice Chairman
  • David Bufalini
  • Joanne Gennaro
  • Tom King
  • George Medich
  • Cheryl Hartle
  • Harold W Alinder
  • Michael Jones, Solicitor
  • Rudy Zetz

Zoning Hearing Board

The Hopewell Township Zoning Hearing Board meets as necessary for public hearings on variances, special exceptions, and other zoning applications when advertised. All permit applications must be completed and delivered to the Hopewell Township Zoning Officer prior to taking any action. If you have questions regarding the planning office please call the Township Manager (724-378-1460 Ext 105). Members of the board include:

  • Dave Leipchak, Chairman
  • Eric Biscup
  • Jon Barna
  • Jeff Mateer – Alternate
  • George Patterson II, Solicitor

Universal Construction Code Board of Appeals

  • Fred Bologna Jr.
  • Robert Silvestri
  • Rick Miller
  • Eric Biscup
  • Jeff Mateer
  • Willam A. Persuitte
  • Solicitor – Vacant

Park Advisory Board Members

  • Janice Gibson, President
  • John Keck, Vice President
  • Don Wright
  • Tom Lewis
  • Janet Meyers
  • Jack Owens
  • Joe Sullivan, Concert Liaison
  • Brad Batchelor, Recreation Director

Civil Service Commission

  • Michael Bechak
  • Ron Costanza
  • Dean Aires
  • Edward Haney – Alternate
  • Tim Levinger – Alternate

Vacancy Board

  • Ronald Sullivan